Fallen Shipmates

© Crown copyright. IWM (FKD 92)
HMS Ardent Memorial on Campito Hill – Falklands © Crown copyright. IWM (FKD 92)

During the Battle of Falkland Sound on the 21 May 1982 HMS Ardent was lost in action and 22 of the 199 crew were left behind. A memorial on Campito Hill looks down upon their last resting place in Falkland Sound:

AB(S) Derek Armstrong
Lt Cdr Richard Banfield
AB(S) Andrew Barr
POAEM(M) Peter Brouard
CK Richard Dunkerley
ALCK Michael Foote
MEM(M)2 Stephen Ford
ASTD Shaun Hanson
AB(S) Shaun Hayward
AB(EW) Stephen Heyes
WEM(R)1 Simon Lawson
MEM(M)2 Alistair Leighton
AEM(N)1 Allan McAulay
ALS(R) Michael Mullen
LT Brian Murphy
LPT Gary Nelson
APOWEM(R) Andrew Palmer
CK John Roberts
LT CDR John Sephton DSC (posthumous)
ALMEM(M) Stephen White
LMEM(L) Garry Whitford
MEM(M)1 Gilbert Williams

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.